What a Designer ought to be.

I came across this while researching a design assignment. It’s excerpted from Milton Glaser’s AIGA Design Legends Speech.

“Two weeks ago I developed a sudden, painful wrist condition. I went to a fancy hand doctor who told me I probably had a “gouty” incident. That’s not “Gaudi” the great Barcelonian designer and architect. It’s gout, as in those 18th century engravings of rich, fat men with inflamed big toes. My wrist is fine but while I was in the doctor’s office I noticed a document on his wall called “What A Surgeon Ought to Be” written in the 14th century. I’ve changed a word or two but it seems like good advice for our profession.

What the Designer Ought to Be: Let the designer be bold in all sure things, and fearful in dangerous things; let him avoid all faulty treatments and practices. He ought to be gracious to the client, considerate to his associates, cautious in his prognostications. Let him be modest, dignified, gentle, pitiful, and merciful; not covetous nor an extortionist of money; but rather let his reward be according to his work, to the means of the client, to the quality of the issue, and to his own dignity.”

(here’s a link to the whole essay) 

Tagged

Be Brave. Leave a Comment.